Meatloaf. The food, not the man.

It’s the perfect kind of day to snuggle up in a warm blanket and gorge yourself on comfort food.

It’s also the perfect kind of day to bring back legwarmers. They seriously work. 

Image

 

I opted for both and because the chili I wanted to make requires several hours, I chose a recipe my trainer sent me today – spicy buffalo chicken meatloaf. Except his recipe had bread-crumbs and gorgonzola cheese in it. I pointed out that makes me fat just reading it.

He then provided me with a paleo friendly recipe  – I combined both of them and this is what I came up with. In the interest of full disclosure – it is not my most favorite thing I have ever tried, but it was warm, comforting, and now I’m full but not bloated. Plus we have leftovers. 

 

Meatloaf.

1 lb ground turkey (because I accidentally bought that instead of chicken)

1 egg

A dash of almond milk

½ cup almond flour (you can leave this out) 

¼ – ½ cup of sriracha

Diced celery

½ of yellow onion, diced

A few cloves of minced garlic

Some garlic powder, some cayenne, some cumin, some chili powder, and salt and pepper. I also added some parsley and dill for fun. And some chopped green peppers. But not necessary. 

Preheat oven at 375 degrees. Put egg, spices, almond milk, and sriracha in bowl and whisk it all up. Combine this mixture with the meat and other ingredients and use your hands and get it all meaty. Put it into a pammed loaf pan and bake for 25-35 minutes. Voila. 

 

Sidenote: This wasn’t the best meatloaf I have ever made. I bet if it had bread and gorgonzola cheese and was battered and deep fried, it would be a lot better. But then your stomach would hurt and you’d be depressed.

 

 You know what is super good? Roasted cauliflower. Here’s why.

 Roasted Cauliflower

Take a head of cauliflower, chop it into florets (or go buy the pre-cut bag. I won’t judge), and throw it into a ziploc bag with some olive oil, salt and pepper, cracked red pepper and cumin. Because I’m Italian, I also add minced garlic to everything. Maybe even some halved tomatoes if you have them on hand but who cares if you don’t. Pam a baking sheet, shake the bag a few times (or several if you are listening to awesome music or want an arm workout), and throw it all on the sheet and in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes. Freaking delicious. And nutritious. And you don’t need cheese. You can cut out the olive oil by just melting a little bit of coconut oil in your microwave and tossing that all up instead. 

Image

Throw in a sweet potato and call it dinner, cavewoman style. 

 

**Said trainer also introduced me to this really amazing paleo chili recipe. I have a few others I will post as soon as we finish all this meatloaf. But this is truly delicious. If you have any other stews or chili recipes you love, please send em my way! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

